Soy Protein Vs Whey Protein

By      01-May 2020       Reading Time: 6 Mins

Soy Protein Vs Whey Protein

The human body needs a certain amount of protein to create enzymes, to build and repair tissues and muscles, and to make hormones. Every cell in our body contains protein. Protein is found in large quantities in our bones, skin, muscles, cartilage, and blood. Thus, protein is an essential nutrient necessary for the growth of our bodies. Protein is made up of amino acids that are linked together in the form of long chains.


The best source of protein is food items such as fruits, vegetables, legumes, and dairy products. But along with the consumption of food, supplements are beneficial to increase the protein intake. Protein shakes are a great way of consuming extra and healthy proteins. The two options that pop into our heads when we think of protein shakes are soy protein and whey protein. There has always been an ongoing debate to choose which one is better than the other. 


Today, we are here to give you a clear distinction between the two types of proteins with the different benefits they have to offer. This will help you in choosing which kind of protein suits your body and preferences.


Soy Protein


It is a plant-based protein that has shown an increase in the growth of lean muscle tissues as compared to other protein-based products. Soy protein powder is made out of soybeans. Soybeans are legumes with high protein and low-fat content. Soy protein has a strong nutty flavor and a grainy texture. Often manufacturers add additional nutrients to the raw soy protein powder to improve the texture, and taste of the product. The shelf life of soy protein lasts more than a year. 


This protein powder is a complete protein which means that it contains all the essential and non-essential amino acids. Soy protein is rich in arginine, tryptophan, and phenylalanine. Another benefit of soy protein is that it comes from plants which makes it vegan-friendly. Vegans can get a sufficient amount of protein from soy protein. People who are lactose intolerant can consume soy protein as it does not contain lactose. You can consume soy protein by making a glass of protein shake or by adding the powder to your meals.


Whey Protein


Whey protein is made out of cow’s milk. Cow’s milk is naturally rich in protein content. It contains two types of proteins: whey and casein. Cheese made from cow’s milk strips out the casein and leaves behind whey protein with water. The water is processed which turns into whey isolate. Whey isolate contains high levels of natural and pure protein. The absorption rate of this protein is quite fast. It is known to grow and repair muscles and tissues in the body. This is why most bodybuilders or athletes choose whey protein supplements to build bones and muscles. 


Whey protein drinks are smooth and creamy with a mild nutty flavor. Even though whey protein is made out of milk, the shelf life of the product is decent and the protein doesn’t go bad for a long time. Whey protein is rich in lysine, leucine, methionine, and isoleucine. Lysine is linked with strong muscles and bones. Thus, whey protein is mostly preferred by bodybuilders. This protein comes from an animal source and is not suitable for a vegan diet.




Soy and whey proteins come in different flavors. Taste and flavor are more of a personal preference and people can choose accordingly which protein works best for them. Always consult a nutritionist before deciding to take any form of food supplements. 

About Author

Nmami Life is committed to provide unprecedented excellence and authenticity through its digital medium.
Read other articles

Nmami Life Editorial

Check Out Our Health & Wellness Plans

At Nmami Life we are committed to bring to you the best of health and fitness services which will bring in new energy to your lifestyle
Explore Now

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recommended For You